Local First, then 25

Posted on July 3, 2009. Filed under: Local First | Tags: , , |

Local-First-image001As I am approaching my first quarter century of life I have decided to give back one more time.  I volunteer and I give money to local organizations, but I thought it would be great to do something a little bigger.  So, for my 25th birthday I decided it would be great to make an impact on our local economy in Grand Rapids and Michigan.

To make the biggest impact my husband and I decided it would be best to buy and eat only local for 23 days in July (the first 23 up to my birthday).

While buying local, we also decided we would like to promote the efforts of Local First, an organization that promotes local business ownership, social equity and environmental kinship through education, support and collaboration in West Michigan.

To help support Local First, I am asking friends and families to give to them instead of gifts to me, even if it was only going to be $3 on a card. A link to give through PayPal will be up soon!

As we buy local we are also focusing on companies that are members of Local First.  You can see a full list here: http://www.localfirst.com/members.

While taking on the challenge, I will be blogging about the experience and the great local stores and restaurants I visit.  Keep on visiting for up-to-date information on how we’re doing buying and eating locally.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

