Personal Organization Tip of the Week: Write the date and subject of your notes on the outside of the page.

Posted on June 5, 2009. Filed under: Personal Organization | Tags: , , |

from FlickrCreativeCommons mrbill

This is the simplest personal organization tip of the week, but implementing this practice has made my life so much easier.  I tend to use one notebook for everything, and helps me keep it all straight without having to highlight or tab pages.

I simply turn my notebook to the left, before I write on any page.  After turning it I write this along the side date, topic.  Then if the notes for the topic go on to another page I simply put date, topic, 2 (then 3, 4 … if needed).  Make sure to write it along the side, so you are able to see each topic and date while flipping through quickly.

By using this process, along with keeping all your notes in one notebook, you will be amazed by how much quicker you can reference that conversation you had three months ago!

Does anyone have other notebook methods they would like to share?  Have a great one and we can share it in a new post in upcoming weeks.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Personal Organization Tip of the Week: Write the date and subject of your notes on the outside of the page.”

RSS Feed for Social Citizen Comments RSS Feed

Pocket PC has made my life soooo much easier. I use Outlook’s “Notes” function and jot them down realtime. Then I break the notes down by keyword hashes (“//thisblogidea”). I plug the PPC into my desktop and update (have three units – XV6601s you can now buy for under $50 on eBay).

I use the search function in Outlook to find the keywords. Lately, I have begun to move project notes to ONENOTE – jury is out on that idea. Oh… BTW… backup, backup, backup!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

