Trying to reinvent yourself? You have to start with your driving forces.

Posted on February 26, 2009. Filed under: Careers | Tags: , , , |

A few weeks ago, my colleagues and I had lunch with a fabulous female Grandripidian, Christine Albertini.  Among other things we talked about the need to reinvent our workplace during these tough economic times.  We discussed the importance of keeping ourselves and our organization fresh and relevant for community benefit organizations in the area.

Christine mentioned the first step in the process of reinvention is to identify your driving forces for the change.  Over the past few weeks I have been thinking about this concept and how it may relate to the personal branding of emerging leaders. 

Each individual, according to what statistics I keep hearing, will have a possible seven or more careers in their lifetime.  So, as we are entering the workforce and finding our sea legs in which career we would like to stay in, it is important to identify our driving forces for each career change.

Driving forces can be anything from a shift in your environment to a passion to fix an issue to a need for more money.  Whatever it is, it is helpful to write down the list when making a major decision about your career.

I am currently going through a reinvention process. My goals are to reinvent or solidify the content on my blog, and find a career path that really works for me.  As I am making decisions about both of these changes I am going to keep my driving forces in mind.  By keeping these in mind I am hoping to avoid decisions that aren’t based on my needs.

My driving forces for the changes are:

  • A balanced and stable life for myself and my soon to be husband
  • Making infrastructure changes in the community benefit sector
  • Interest in the paradigm shift occurring right now around donation driven organizations to volunteer driven organizations
  • Interest in the paradigm shift of community benefit organizations to being more diverse in age and ethnicity
  • A strong community of sharing individuals
  • Challenge
  • Tough economic times, make for tough situations in my workplace
  • Learning

 What are your driving forces?  Do you think this method will help in making career decisions?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

