Personal Organization Tip of the Week: Just Make the Time

Posted on January 29, 2009. Filed under: Personal Organization | Tags: , , , , |

from zoutedrop

from zoutedrop

There are plenty of options for improving your personal organization.  Anyone can spend countless hours wasting time trying to figure out what works best for them.  The real key is to commit to one tactic for a while.  When I say a while I don’t mean two days, three hours, or a week.  I’m talking about spending at least a month or most likely more to get used to your new tool.  Then after getting used to it or deciding you hate it you can try another tool or build upon what you have going that’s working.

Recently, I have learned that time with a tool doesn’t always mean you are going to love it, but taking the time allowed me to find what I really love.  Paper it is!  Anyone who knows me, knows I love all the new tech toys and finding a new app every day to add to my desktop or change around an existing tool.  When it comes to keeping my appointments paper is the top.  I spent almost two years with my smart phone, trying to sync it with my computer, not loving the full month layout, and always forgetting to sync.  I don’t know why, but with paper I can always remember to update my week.  What I also love more about paper is that I can take quick notes to remind me about tasks and it is nice to have my at home tasks and weekend to-do lists all in one spot.  My smart phone is still around, I did find I like to have my emails and the internet close by.  I’m also still using my google calendar to track task time and Remember the Milk, along with a notebook I write everything in (more about that coming soon).  My life seems so much easier moving back to paper, but I have to give it time to make sure I perfect my craft.

Do you have any stories about giving a tool a try or giving up on one too soon?  Are you struggling with switching through too many tools and always resort back to the old “no system” method, I want to hear your stories?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

