Personal Organization Tip of the Week: Use Google Notebook

Posted on January 14, 2009. Filed under: Personal Organization | Tags: , , , , , |

google-notebookMy original intent was not to have all Google products in my personal organization tip of the week, but it sure is turning out that way.  I believe there is only one left I haven’t shared with you, that is Google Notebook. I use it for doing research for the Nonprofit Good Practice Guide, I use it to keep track of blog posts I want to write about, I use it to create the Monday Mix on the NP2020 Blog. Google Notebook really has endless possibilities. One of my tech-savvy friends even just used it to keep track of sites for her wedding planning.

Google Notebook is a lot like using you explorer’s bookmarks or del.icio.us bookmarks.  You are able to add the notebook as an extension on your firefox, so you have easy access to right click and bookmark any pages you are navigating.  Just like the other bookmark applications you are able to add tags, and comments if you would like.  What makes Google Notebook different, is the ability to type on the pages of your notebook without having to bookmark something.

You can also export your notebook to Google Docs or Word.  I like these features, becuase I can add links to the page; write descriptions for articles; sort articles by topic; and add headings, an introduction paragraph, and conclusion then promptly export it to Google Docs and add it to my blog. Google Notebook is a great tool to keep track of any amount of articles on specific topics or projects you are working on.  You can add as many notbooks as you would like to your list for endless sorting and writing.

Do you use Google Notebook?  Any thoughts on how you can use Google Notebook in other ways to help with your personal organization?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Personal Organization Tip of the Week: Use Google Notebook”

RSS Feed for Social Citizen Comments RSS Feed

Hi Tera,

I have really been enjoying your personal organization tips lately. I love the Notebook too and I feel so lucky to have jumped on the Google Notebook bandwagon when I did! It is by far the most useful tool I’ve found for research & tracking, but I noticed this tragic news the other day:

http://googlenotebookblog.blogspot.com/2009/01/stopping-development-on-google-notebook.html

I guess it’s time for me to stop telling everyone i know about the Google Notebook! Now that it’s unavailable, that would just be a tease!

Thanks again for the tips!

By the way, I believe that “Evernote” is a similar application. I don’t know much about it yet, but I may have to research it now that I can’t recommend Google Notebook!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

