What happened to just do it? I am right now.

Posted on August 18, 2008. Filed under: Planning for the Future | Tags: , , , , |

I was just reading one of the many career planning/development blogs that I read pretty much daily, and I again felt overwhelmed by the thoughts of making a goal list or a personal mission statement or planning for my future career.  I decided this must mean something.

I am typically the last person to say this, but THE HELL WITH IT.  Right now I am crazy busy and don’t really have time to create goals for the next year.  Does this make me a bad person?  Does this make me not ready to take on the future?  Does this make me a that Millennial that everyone is talking about?

No!

At some point you just have to take a moment and work on what you are doing now.  I spent most of my college career and the past 2 years working on where my future is going.  And beginning right now, right this minute I am going to do just what I am doing now and not think about the future past my wedding day on April 25, 2009.  I am going to trust that the planning I have done so far has brought me to where I need to be.

Right now, I am going to blog, class, League, YNPN, wedding plan, and work.  All of these things I have put in place to create a future for myself, and right now I am going to just do them and not worry about setting long term goals until I am done with my masters and until I am married (that just brings on a whole new life).

I am not going to make a personal mission statement, I know what I stand for right now.

I am not going to write down a bunch of goals to reach by the end of the year, I know all of them already.

I am not going to examine every opportunity based on where it will get me in the future, I am going to do what is right for me right now.

I feel secure where I am right now and instead of worrying about what I am going to do after my masters, what next job I am going to have, or what board I am going to be on next, I am going to just live for what I am doing right now.  I don’t have to have my entire life planned before it happens.

Woot!  Just writing this post makes me feel better.  I challenge all of you who read this, and whom aren’t in a transitional period (I am lucky to be in a stable spot right now) to stop thinking so far ahead just for a moment. I think it’s going to be a glorious next few months!  What do you think?  Is it all possible?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

7 Responses to “What happened to just do it? I am right now.”

RSS Feed for Social Citizen Comments RSS Feed

I’ve been battling with this myself because I am in a transitional period. I have been volunteering abroad for the last year and in 6 weeks I will be back in the States to hunt for a job. Oh of course, there is the factor that I want to go to graduate school next year. It’s a ripe time for panic, so it is good to read about your experiences in just letting all of the planning go. Congrats on the upcoming wedding!

Thanks Vanessa! Something I have learned, although I love to make a ton of decisions at once, is to just think about it one step at a time. Sometimes it takes a calm head to help you out, but it can happen. Good luck with finding the masters program you want!

I think what you’re planning is very possible. It’s interesting to read about your struggle, because I typically have the opposite one. I don’t usually have to worry about planning too far ahead, but I do sometimes have to worry about not planning far enough ahead. But on the other hand I do like to have long-term goals.

Like you say, the best mindset for the time being really depends on how close to a transition you are.

[…] Go to the author’s original blog: What happened to just do it? I am right now. […]

Excellent proclomation! I took a stand against continual self-development techniques and constantly trying to be everything this past weekend. It can be so overwhelming and frustrating. A book that I am currently reading says that when you plan for what you don’t know you usually worry yourself over things that most likely won’t happen. That is precisely what I do, I plan for the worst and never the best.

Thanks again for leaving a reply on my blog. I will definitely contine to keep up with yours since it seems that great minds do think alike.

I think you are thinking straight. Planning too much just sets you up to do a bunch of things not so well. The best way in my opinion to be successful is to do whatever you are engaged in really well. Have a reputaton for excellence and your career will unfold just fine. Some people make long lists and get little done. Life is not about lists and how much you can do. It is about priorities. Whatever makes you the happiest should be one of your top priorities. I ran Walt Disney World Operations for 10 years and I never had a one, five or ten year plan. I did every job I was given really well and just kept getting promoted. Good luck with your masters and with your marriage. Those are two big things….Lee Cockerell

Tera,

I recently discovered your blog and it’s great. I’m glad that you are listening to your inner voice as you fully embrace the present. I launched a blog to combat stress in the nonprofit sector called Beacons on the Frontline, Sustaining the light of those who serve. I look forward to reading more of your blog.

-Asia
http://www.beaconsfrontline.com


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

