Back to Reality

Posted on December 11, 2007. Filed under: Community, Uncategorized |

I am back from Africa and have been trying to roll back into reality!  It has been hard fighting jet lag and catching up on all my homework (word to the wise: don’t put all of your exam notes in your checked baggage, when you have an exam the week you get back, it is possible your baggage will never make it to your destination!)

My trip was amazing!  I really got to experience the daily life of individuals living in Zambia and Zimbabwe.  The daily life they live with HIV/AIDS looming over their shoulders, taking care of sick friends and family members, taking in orphaned children, searching for food, and living without a husband or wife to help support them.

I am forever grateful to have been born in the US and thankful that I have been offered the opportunity to view the lives of others less fortunate.  Well I say less fortunate in that they have less material items than I do, and that our poorest will never be as poor as theirs.  Their lives are filled with hardships but together they have formed strong communities the best they can.  Orphans still struggle, but thank you to the work of World Hope and the Christian church in Zimbabwe they are getting taken care of the best possible way!

I am still compiling my experiences and will be writing about them in more detail very soon.  As soon as life is a little more back to normal!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Back to Reality”

RSS Feed for Social Citizen Comments RSS Feed

This is very insightful. I agree that sometimes, too many passions can be dangerous. But, it’s good (healthy) to stay broad enough to be aware when something is worth pursuing with everything you’ve got.

Check out what I do at CoolPeopleCare.org.

Glad I found your blog.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

