Proud of my Party!

Posted on May 4, 2007. Filed under: Equality, Government |

I was watching clips of the Republican party presidential debate on the news this morning and the only thing I could think of was, “I am so proud of my party!” The Democrats are really showing gusto with their candidates this year!

Looking at the 9 or 10 Republican white males sprawled across the stage brings me back to our countries patriarchal days, the days of Thomas Jefferson and James Madison. Really now that I think about it, it brings me back to the days of Nixon and Reagan. The times are not that far past, where a woman or African American would ever step foot on the presidential stage in any way, shape or form.

Today the Democrats are taking a stand. There is not only a women and an African American, but a Latin American as well. I really cannot believe my eyes. It was just yesterday that I was watching Bill Clinton, George Bush, and Ross Perot running for President. Today there is another Clinton, but a Clinton that looks far different from any other candidates in the past.

I am proud to see Hillary Clinton, Barack Oboma, and Bill Richardson on the stage. Just knowing they could possibly be on my ballot next November gives me hope for our country. We sure have made large strides towards equality.

I know that we still have a long way to go before everyone is considered equal, but I see a little glimmer of faith in the right direction!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

